Travis Kelce, Justin Jefferson unanimous AP All-Pro selections

Travis Kelce and Justin Jefferson are unanimous selections for The Associated Press 2022 NFL All-Pro Team, and Sauce Gardner is the primary rookie cornerback chosen in 41 years.

The Chiefs’ Kelce and the Vikings’ Jefferson obtained first-team votes Friday from all 50 members of a nationwide panel of media members who often cowl the league.

Kansas City quarterback Patrick Mahomes, San Francisco 49ers edge rusher Nick Bosa and Chiefs defensive lineman Chris Jones every bought 49 of fifty first-team votes. The Chiefs and Niners led the best way with 4 gamers every on the primary crew.

Gardner, the fourth total choose by the New York Jets, was named on all 50 ballots, receiving 43 first-place votes. Pro Football Hall of Famer Ronnie Lott was the final rookie cornerback chosen for the primary crew in 1981.

“That’s an enormous deal to me,” Gardner instructed the AP. “It was certainly one of my targets earlier than coaching camp. It’s one thing I pray for. I labored so onerous for it. It’s a real blessing for positive.”

Kelce’s older brother, Jason, additionally earned first-team honors for the fifth time in his profession to remain one forward of his pass-catching brother. Jason Kelce’s fellow Philadelphia Eagles linemate, proper sort out Lane Johnson, joins him on the squad.

“Big honor, particularly blissful for [Johnson]who’s one of the best sort out within the NFL with out query, particularly on the appropriate aspect,” Jason Kelce instructed the AP.

Johnson, a second-time All-Pro, has missed the previous two video games with an adductor damage however hopes to return when the No. 1-seeded Eagles host a divisional spherical playoff sport subsequent week.

“We put in a variety of effort and time within the sport, particularly as you become old, you begin to cherish it,” Johnson instructed the AP.

Las Vegas Raiders working again Josh Jacobs is among the many 16 first-time All-Pros. Jacobs led the NFL in dashing with 1,653 yards, scored 12 dashing touchdowns and averaged 4.9 yards per carry. The Raiders had three first-team picks regardless of ending 6-11.

“The 12 months undoubtedly did not go the best way we needed it to however, individually, it is undoubtedly an honor to be chosen,” Jacobs instructed the AP.

Jefferson, who had a league-best 128 catches and 1,809 yards receiving, is the opposite newcomer on offense. Miami’s Tyreek Hill made it for the fourth time and third as a receiver. Hill had 119 catches for 1,710 yards and 7 TDs in his first season with the Dolphins. Raiders wideout Davante Adams bought the nod for a 3rd time. Adams had 100 receptions for 1,516 yards and 14 TDs in his first season in Las Vegas.

Cowboys proper guard Zack Martin is a six-time All-Pro, whereas 49ers left sort out Trent Williams and Browns left guard Joel Bitonio made it for the second straight season.

Mahomes additionally was an All-Pro in 2018 when he was the NFL MVP. He led the league with 5,250 yards passing and 41 TDs, serving to the Chiefs go 14-3 to seize their seventh straight AFC West title. Philadelphia’s Jalen Hurts bought one first-team vote, stopping Mahomes from being a unanimous selection.

Cowboys edge rusher Micah Parsons, 49ers linebacker Fred Warner and Steelers security Minkah Fitzpatrick are the one returning All-Pros on protection. It’s a 3rd time for Fitzpatrick. Parsons, who had 13.5 sacks, made it as a linebacker in his rookie season final 12 months.

Bosa, Jones, Jets defensive lineman Quinnen Williams, Ravens linebacker Roquan Smith, Bills linebacker Matt Milano, Broncos cornerback Patrick Surtain II and Niners security Talanoa Hufanga all earned their first All-Pro selections.

Bosa led the NFL with 18.5 sacks. Williams had 11.

“I inform my spouse my targets every single day so she will preserve me accountable and ensure I do the appropriate factor and it was changing into a Pro Bowler and an All-Pro,” Williams instructed the AP. “To get this information, all of the work I put in has paid off and I bought to proceed to do the identical factor.”

All six particular groups gamers are first-timers, too: Raiders kicker Daniel Carlson, Chiefs punter Tommy Townsend, Packers kick returner Keisean Nixon, Patriots punt returner Marcus Jones, Commanders particular teamer Jeremy Reaves and Vikings long-snapper Andrew DePaola.

This was the primary 12 months for the AP’s new voting system. Voters selected a primary crew and a second crew. First-team votes are value three factors, whereas second-team votes are value one.

Leave a Comment